CREC Council Passes Resolution

CREC Council Passes Resolution to Support Student Centered Funding Through CGA House Bill 5003
Posted on 05/19/2023
This is the image for the news article titled CREC Council Passes Resolution to Support Student Centered Funding Through CGA House Bill 5003At CREC’s Annual Meeting on Wednesday, May 17, 2023, the CREC Council approved a resolution requesting Governor Lamont and the Connecticut General Assembly to support and fully fund the Student Centered Funding Plan within House Bill 5003: An Act Concerning Education Funding. The resolution also asks that the plan be adopted into the Biennium State Budget for Fiscal Year 2024-25.

“As a long time educator, this legislation is transformational in providing an equitable funding mechanism for all public school students, including magnet school students, to be fully funded according to their learning needs while also providing our school districts with relief for magnet tuition,” said Greg Florio, CREC Executive Director. “We ask Governor Lamont and our Legislative Leaders to fully fund HB 5003"

By removing the need for tuition, HB 5003 creates a Student Centered Funding Formula that eliminates the burden of regular education costs on the resident districts of Sheff magnet school students. This resolution demonstrates a joint commitment of CREC council members representing boards of education in the Capitol Region for fully funding this transformative legislation.

The CREC Council is comprised of 34 board of education members from the cities and towns in the Capitol Region:

- Lydia Tedone, CREC Council Chair, Simsbury

- Tyron Harris, Vice-Chair, East Hartford

- Kim Oliver, Secretary/Treasurer, Hartford

- Jackie Blea, Avon

- Tracy Sisti, Berlin

- Donald F. Harris, Jr., Bloomfield

- Joseph Wilkerson, Jr., Bloomfield

- Rhea Klein, Bolton

- Louis M. Daniels, Canton

- Celina Kelleher, Cromwell

- Kate Carey-Trull, East Windsor

- Francis Neill, East Windsor

- Miriam Underwood, Ellington

- Elizabeth Fitzsimmons, Farmington

- Julie Thompson, Glastonbury

- Kristina Gilton, Granby

- Chris Pattacini, Manchester

- Merrill Gay, New Britain

- Bruce Fletcher, Newington

- Becky Tyrrell, Plainville

- Meg Scata, Portland

- John Vecchitto, Regional School District 10 (Harwinton/Burlington)

- Dilip Desai, Rocky Hill

- Krista Cherry, Somers

- Sarah Moynihan Bollinger, Somers

- Anitha Elango, South Windsor

- Craig Zimmerman, South Windsor

- Robert Brown Connellan, Southington

- Maureen Sattan, Suffield

- Deborah Rodriguez, Vernon

- Bobbie Hughes-Granato, Wethersfield

- Leonard Lockhart, Windsor

- David Furie, Windsor

- Dennis Gragnolati, Windsor Locks

- Patricia King, Windsor Locks
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.